In the long, sleepless watches of the night

A jaunt up to Central London with the girls, playing I Spy on the train into town, before meeting my sister for lunch. On the way back I resisted the temptation to go into Rymans and buy unnecessary stationery items, and although I said the Waterstones word, I didn’t anywhere near a printed book.

At our homeward terminus, Charing Cross station, I stopped for a moment to capture a picture of the Eleanor Cross. I know I have blogged about this before, way back in the mists of time. This is a replica of a cross erected by Edward I, in memory of his wife, Eleanor of Castile. He arranged for 12 such crosses to be erected at each of 12 sites where her coffin had rested overnight on the trip from Lincoln to London. They were built between 1291 and 1297, with the funds coming out of the Queen’s estate!

I haven’t managed to visit any of the three remaining original monuments, but it’s on my list.

IMG_6653 cropped

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

