I nearly died on this lawn

2009-07-01 027

or so the family story goes.

On the side of the conservatory, there used to be a large door (to the right of the picture, giving access to the side passage). Mum would step out of the kitchen and open the door to call us in from the garden for tea or some such crucial event.

I’m not sure how old I was, but on one particular occasion, the wind whipping down the side of the house snatched the handle out of her hand, and tore the door off its hinges, carrying it in the air towards the lawn where little old me was playing. It apparently missed me by inches. I certainly would have been seriously injured, if not killed, because, as I said, it was a wide, heavy door.

I have no memory of that event. None at all. You think I would unless I was totally traumatised by and blacked it out of my memory for ever. Perhaps I have.

What I do remember about this lawn:

  • family photos taken on special occasions – christenings, birthdays, weddings.
  • my sister and I riding round and round on our bikes until my Dad freaked about the mess we were making of the grass and banning us!
  • trying to make “tea” in a one-cup tea pot using the inside of felt tips and the heat of the sun
  • the forsythia bush at the corner of the lawn
  • falling over too many times as a kid and scraping my knee on the breeze block edges, or tripping up and getting my shins instead
  • my own children playing on the grass at Nana’s, running round and round
  • just being happy there

We completed the sale on Mum’s house at the end of last week. It was a big rush and I was there every day, doing the final clearing of things that we wanted to keep and things that could be let go of. Even though it was a big big effort (the buyers were suddenly ready to exchange contracts NOW after weeeeeks of nothing happening) and I felt rushed, it was, in the end, OK.

As for Jenny, we seem to have turned a corner with her morning resistance. She is much happier to give me a kiss and just say bye, without the clinging, and it’s so much easier. I was chatting to her teacher this evening, and we both acknowledged that the fast-approaching end of the school year and the beginning of the new one in September will brings its own challenges. But for now, we’re OK.

  1. #1 by bsouth on July 7, 2009 - 7:17 pm

    I’m sad you had to say goodbye to that lawn but happy you have so many memories of it. I’m glad you didn’t remember the door incident – it probably would have been counter-productive.

    Yay for Jenny too – fingers crossed that the end of year change-over goes relatively smoothly.

  2. #2 by unfitbikerchick on July 10, 2009 - 11:10 pm

    Glad to hear things are picking up with Jenny, fingers crossed the holidays will help her with a fresh start in September.
    I often sit astonished at the stories my older family members tell me of childhood events i dont recollect – as the youngest who had crap eyesight until picked up at age 3 and not dealt with till 5 my early childhood really was a blur!!! Glad you have good memories of the family home to keep and hope the sale etc is all going ok. yx

Leave a Reply

